OUR VISION

We want to make it possible for everyone to enjoy high-quality coffee from the capsule in a sustainable way. Our most important core values are:

rezemo coffee capsule edition 4 is focused between two fingers against light green background

OUR FOUNDATION HISTORY

The idea to solve the packaging waste problem

2014

Julian and Stefanthe founders of rezemo, are on an internship abroad in China and Saudi Arabia. During their internship, they became aware of the packaging waste problem. They return to Stuttgart with a vision. Once there, they are particularly bothered by the aluminum and plastic waste from their capsule machine.

The idea for a sustainable coffee capsule was born.

2015 to 2017

Julian and Stefan begin with initial research and finally start developing their sustainable coffee capsule made of wood. In collaboration with the University of Stuttgart and the affiliated Fraunhofer IPA, the two students develop their idea to market maturity and found rezemo GmbH.

recemo icon research on the business idea
Icon rezemo patent for innovative wooden coffee capsule

2018

After three years of development and a few prototypes later, the time has finally come: the two founders apply for a patent for their sustainable wooden coffee capsule, their own website goes online and the first wooden coffee capsules are delivered to their very first customers. This is followed by some successful pitch competitions and the acquisition of the first major business customers as well as sales outlets and dealers.

2019

The wooden coffee capsule receives the final touches based on initial customer feedback and the first own online shop goes live. DIN CERTCO independently certifies the sustainable coffee capsule as 100% bio-based. To date, this makes it the only capsule on the market that is based exclusively on renewable raw materials. Julian and Stefan pitched the rezemo wooden coffee capsule at "The Lion's Den" and inspire four of the investors for their idea. In the end, however, the founders decide to continue independently of the lion investors. The rezemo team grows and the demand increases: rezemo moves to its new location in Waiblingen, near Stuttgart, and expands the machinery and the new open-plan office with a lot of own commitment.

Icon rezemo team and production

Deshalb stehen wir für

UNSERE  GRÜNDUNGSGESCHICHTE

2014

Julian und Stefan, die Gründer von rezemo, sind im Auslandspraktikum in China und Saudi-Arabien. Dabei wird ihnen die Verpackungsmüllproblematik hautnah bewusst. Sie kehren mit einer Vision zurück nach Stuttgart. Dort angekommen stört sie vor allem der Aluminium- und Plastikabfall ihrer Kapselmaschine.

Die Idee zu einer nachhaltigen Kaffeekapsel ist geboren.

2015 bis 2017

Julian und Stefan beginnen mit ersten Recherchen und starten schließlich mit der Entwicklung ihrer nachhaltigen Kaffeekapsel aus Holz. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Stuttgart und dem angeschlossenen Fraunhofer IPA entwickeln die beiden Studenten ihre Idee zur Marktreife und gründen die rezemo GmbH.

2018

Nach drei Jahren Entwicklung und einige Prototypen später ist es endlich soweit: Die beiden Gründer melden das Patent für ihre nachhaltige Kaffeekapsel aus Holz an, die eigene Website geht online und die ersten Kaffeekapseln aus Holz kommen zu ihren allerersten Kunden. Es folgen einige erfolgreiche Pitch-Wettbewerbe und die Gewinnung erster großer Geschäftskunden sowie Verkaufsstellen und Händler.

2019

Die Kaffeekapsel aus Holz erhält auf Basis von erstem Kundenfeedback den letzten Feinschliff und der erste eigene Online-Shop geht live. DIN CERTCO zertifiziert die nachhaltige Kaffeekapsel unabhängig als 100% biobasiert. Sie ist damit bis heute die einzige Kapsel am Markt, die ausschließlich auf nachwachsenden Rohstoffen basiert. Julian und Stefan pitchen die rezemo Kaffeekapsel aus Holz bei „Die Höhle der Löwen“ und begeistern gleich vier der Investoren für Ihre Idee. Schließlich entscheiden sich die Gründer aber unabhängig von den Löwen-Investoren weiterzumachen. Das rezemo Team wächst und die Nachfrage steigt: rezemo zieht in den neuen Standort nach Waiblingen, bei Stuttgart, um und baut dort mit viel Eigenengagement den Maschinenpark sowie das neue Großraumbüro aus.