The sustainable rezemo coffee capsule

 

Order now!

to the rezemo shop

The ecologic added value of our coffee capsules

55

less CO2 emissions compared to aluminium capsules

In collaboration with worldwatchers.org we have succeeded in making a first independent statement about the CO2 pollution caused by the rezemo coffee capsule. The result, taking into account all relevant production steps of the various components as well as all logistics steps, is clear: With the rezemo capsule, at least 55% of CO2 emissions can be saved compared to an aluminium capsule.

26

less CO2 emissions compared to fossil plastic capsules

Compared to a petrochemically produced plastic capsule, at least 26% of theCO2 emissions are saved. TheCO2 emissions for the disposal of plastic capsules are not included in this value. Since plastic capsules rarely end up in the yellow bag empty of residues, the Recycling rate low and the majority is banned. If these emissions are also taken into account, a much higher value can be assumed. (worldwatchers.org)

100

Green electricity for rezemo production in Baden-Württemberg

As rezemo GmbH we use for our production to 100% green electricity from renewable energies. In doing so, we obtain our electricity demonstrably from hydroelectric power plants in the Alpine region with the legally prescribed environmental standards. We thus set the highest standards in terms of environmental protection and actively contribute to the energy turnaround.

Learn more about our sustainable coffees!

A NATURAL CIRCULATION

CREATED BY THE REZEMO COFFEE CAPSULE

Because we only use renewable raw materials that come from the cycle of nature, we minimise the footprint of our capsule. The product cycle from value creation to recycling is thus also significantly optimised from a CO2 point of view. (worldwatchers.org)

rezemo icon wood stack for natural material wood

1. natural material wood

Wood is a great raw material - available in abundance in this country and therefore does not have to be imported. In our forests sustainably managedwe'll never run out. For our coffee capsule we use softwood from south german forests. When sawmills produce construction and furniture wood, large quantities of sawdust and wood shavings are produced. We at rezemo use this residual product in a natural form as raw material for our coffee capsules. We don't have to process them chemically, we don't have to cut down trees and we create an additional value-added stage for this great natural material.

2. binding agent made from plant starch

Of course, we don't carve our coffee capsules from the solid - that would cause considerable waste. That's why the wood fibres have to be held together with a binding agent. For this purpose we use PLA, a bioplasticwhich is made from natural plant starch. This plant starch is obtained from maize and sugar beet. Our PLA is biodegradable. However, since the wood content predominates in the capsule, it decomposes faster than other bioplastic packaging.

rezemo Icon corn for binders from plant starch
rezemo Icon for environmentally friendly production of coffee capsules from wood

3. environmentally friendly production

The wood fibres can now be combined with the PLA by so-called Injection moulding be brought into shape. The material is processed by heat and high pressure. Through injection moulding we can completely avoid the formation of production residues. It is important to us that the production of the coffee capsules is also environmentally friendly. Therefore we pay attention to short distances and produce our entire product in Germany. For this we use exclusively Green electricity from hydropower plants in the Alpine region. 

4. 100% bio-based

This results in the innovative rezemo coffee capsulewhich is certified by DIN CERTCO in the top category with the test result "100% bio-based" (test number 8C150). This makes us the supplier for sustainable coffee capsules. Of course, we think holistically - our sustainable coffee capsules protect the coffee aroma and our outer carton contains neither aluminium nor plastic. We also ship our products with DHL GoGreen.

rezemo icon for 100 percent bio-based coffee capsule

This is what coffee enjoyment looks like without a guilty conscience and the cycle can start all over again.

Die nachhaltige rezemo Kaffeekapsel

 

Jetzt bestellen!

zum rezemo shop

Der ökologische MehRwert unserer Kaffeekapseln

55

weniger CO2-Emissionen gegenüber Aluminium-Kapseln

In Zusammenarbeit mit worldwatchers.org ist es uns gelungen, eine erste unabhängige Aussage über die von der rezemo Kaffeekapsel ausgehende CO2-Belastung zu treffen. Das Ergebnis, unter Einbeziehung aller relevanten Produktionsschritte der verschiedenen Bestandteile sowie aller Logistikschritte, ist eindeutig: Durch die rezemo Kapsel können mindestens 55% der CO2-Emissionen gegenüber einer Aluminium-Kapsel eingespart werden.

26

weniger CO2-Emissionen gegenüber fossilen Kunststoff-Kapseln

Gegenüber einer petrochemisch hergestellten Kunststoff-Kapsel werden mindestens 26% der CO2-Emissionen eingespart. Die CO2-Emissionen für die Entsorgung von Kunststoff-Kapseln sind in diesem Wert noch nicht mit einbezogen. Da Kunststoff-Kapseln selten restentleert im gelben Sack landen, ist die Recyclingquote gering und der Großteil wird verbannt. Werden diese Emissionen noch zusätzlich berücksichtigt, ist von einem weitaus höheren Wert auszugehen. (worldwatchers.org)

Erfahre mehr über unsere nachhaltigen Kaffees!

EIN NATÜRLICHEr KREISLAUF

GESCHAFFEN DURCH DIE REZEMO KAFFEEKAPSEL

Da wir nur nachwachsende Rohstoffe verwenden, die dem Zyklus der Natur entstammen, minimieren wir den Footprint unserer Kapsel. Der Produktkreislauf von der Wertschöpfung bis zur Verwertung ist damit auch unter CO2-Gesichtspunkten deutlich optimiert. (worldwatchers.org)

rezemo Icon Holzstapel fuer Naturmaterial Holz

1. Naturmaterial Holz

Holz ist ein großartiger Rohstoff – hierzulande in Fülle verfügbar und muss daher nicht importiert werden. In unseren Wäldern nachhaltig bewirtschaftet, wird er uns nie ausgehen. Für unsere Kaffeekapsel wird Weichholz aus süddeutschen Wäldern genutzt. Wenn Sägewerke Bau- und Möbelholz herstellen, entstehen große Mengen an Säge- und Hobelspänen. Dieses Restprodukt nutzen wir bei rezemo in natürlicher Form als Rohstoff für unsere Kaffeekapseln. Wir müssen diese nicht chemisch aufbereiten, keine Bäume fällen und schaffen eine zusätzliche Wertschöpfungsstufe für dieses tolle Naturmaterial.

2. Bindemittel aus Pflanzenstärke

Wir schnitzen unsere Kaffeekapseln natürlich nicht aus dem Vollen – das würde erheblichen Ausschuss verursachen. Deshalb müssen die Holzfasern mit einem Bindemittel zusammengehalten werden. Hierfür nutzen wir PLA, einen Biokunststoff, der aus natürlicher Pflanzenstärke hergestellt wird. Diese Pflanzenstärke wird aus Mais und Zuckerrüben gewonnen. Unser PLA ist biologisch abbaubar. Da in der Kapsel jedoch der Holzanteil überwiegt, zersetzt sie sich schneller als andere Biokunststoff-Verpackungen.

rezemo Icon Mais fuer Bindemittel aus Pflanzenstaerke
rezemo Icon fuer umweltfreundliche Hertstellung der Kaffeekapsel aus Holz

3. Umweltfreundliche Fertigung

Die Holzfasern können nun gemeinsam mit dem PLA durch sogenanntes Spritzgießen in Form gebracht werden. Dabei wird das Material durch Hitze und hohen Druck verarbeitet. Durch das Spritzgießen können wir die Entstehung von Produktionsreststoffen vollständig vermeiden. Dabei ist uns wichtig, dass auch die Fertigung der Kaffeekapseln umweltfreundlich geschieht. Deshalb achten wir auf kurze Wege und produzieren unser gesamtes Produkt in Deutschland.

4. Zu 100% biobasiert

Dadurch entsteht die innovative rezemo Kaffeekapsel, die durch DIN CERTCO in der Top-Kategorie mit dem Prüfergebnis „100% biobasiert“ zertifiziert ist (Prüfnummer 8C150). Somit sind wir der Anbieter für nachhaltige Kaffeekapseln. Dabei denken wir selbstverständlich ganzheitlich — Unsere nachhaltigen Kaffeekapseln schützen das Kaffeearoma und auch unser Umkarton enthält weder Aluminium noch Plastik. Zudem versenden wir unsere Produkte mit DHL GoGreen.

rezemo Icon fuer 100 prozent biobasierte Kaffeekapsel

So sieht Kaffeegenuss ohne schlechtes Gewissen aus und der Kreislauf kann von vorne beginnen.